Another Spanish Super Cup in a new format with Barcelona and Real ›

Tomorrow, Barcelona and Real Madrid will start the fight for the Spanish Super Cup. This is the third edition of the competition in a new format, in which four of the best clubs in Spain take part.

Four teams take part in the Spanish Super Cup: the winner and finalist of the Spanish Cup as well as the champion and runner-up of the country. They are FC Barcelona, ​​Athletic, Atlético Madrid and Real Madrid respectively. For Blaugrana and Królewskie is the third entry in the new competition format launched in January 2020.

Barça had previously gained the right to play in the Super Cups thanks to the championship and victory in the King’s Cup in the 2018/2019 season, followed by a runner-up in the 2019/2020 season. As a rule, if one of the Cup finalists takes first or second place in the LaLiga in the same season, then the third team from the league table will be placed in the Super Cup. And thanks to this, in the 2018/2019 season, Real Madrid could play in the tournament, which took the lowest step of the podium in the fight for the Spanish championship.

Tomorrow, Barça and Real will face a direct duel in the semi-final of the Spanish Super Cup. The winner of these matches in the final will play against the better of Athletic – Atlético.

About David Martin

David Martin is the lead editor for Spark Chronicles. David has been working as a freelance journalist.

Check Also

Basketball: Veterans return to the Polish national team

According to FIBA ​​regulations, 24 people should be reported, but unofficial information shows that this …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *