Cycling, Tre Valli Varesine, Pogacar masterpiece in the sprint

The Slovenian prevails in Varese in a sprint of about twenty runners: according to the Colombian Higuita. Attack of Nibali uphill in the final. On Saturday the Classicissima from Bergamo to Como

Pogacar phenomenon, Pogacar masterpiece. The phenomenal Slovenian of UAE Emirates confirms once more the reference point of world cycling and conquers the 101st edition of the Tre Valli Varesine in Varese. After a tight control of his team throughout the race (extraordinary Ulissi, good Formolo), Pogacar decides to play all the cards in a sprint of about twenty runners, including the eternal Alejandro Valverde. Well: if at the Liège-Bastogne-Liège 2021 Pogacar had beaten the world champion Alaphilippe, today he launches a very long sprint, at 300 meters, and gives no escape to the comeback of the Colombian Sergio Higuita and the Spanish Alejandro Valverde, for whom the teammate Mas was commendable. Fourth was the French Pierre Latour, then Cosnefroy (Fra), Adaam Yates (Gb), Mollema (Ola), Pozzovivo, Herrada (Spa) and Molard (Fra).

Figures Mai Pogacar, who passes naturally from the triumphs in the Tour de France (2020 and 2021: 2nd in 2022) to the Monuments (Liège and Giro di Lombardia 2021) at the Strade Bianche 2022, had imposed himself in such a numerous sprint. For the Slovenian it is the 15th victory of 2022, multiple winner of the season, equal to the world champion Evenepoel. And on Saturday he will start with number 1 in the 116th Giro di Lombardia, the fifth classic Monument, from Bergamo to Como, which he already won in 2021 by beating Masnada. To record the attack by Vincenzo Nibali 3.7 km from the finish, on the last stretch: it was the Spaniard Mas, in the stopper version, who went to close on the Squalo.

I ARRIVE: 1. Tadej POGACAR (Slo, Uae-Emirates) 196 km in 4.36’59 ”, average 42.522; 2. Sergio Higuita (Col, Bora-Hansgrohe); 3. Alejandro Valverde (Spa, Movistar); 4. Latour (Fra); 5. Cosnefroy (Fra); 6. A. Yates (Gb); 7. Mollema (Ola); 8. Pozzovivo; 9. Herrada (Spa); 10. Uran (Col); 11. Molard (Fra); 12. Gloag (Gb); 13. Nibali; 14. Martin (Fra); 15. Ulysses. Departed 175, arrived 101.

Source link

About David Martin

David Martin is the lead editor for Spark Chronicles. David has been working as a freelance journalist.

Check Also

probable line-ups, fantasy world tips and timetable

We have finally reached the semi-finals of the Qatar 2022 World Cup. Against all …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *