F1, Singapore GP: Charles Leclerc’s pole position. Verstappen must stop at the last attempt – The starting grid

Among the lights of Singaporeon a circuit that was gradually drying up after the rain, Charles Leclerc wins a splendid pole position. His Ferrariin qualifying, he is once again in front of everyone: immediately behind there are Carlos Perez And Lewis Hamilton on Mercedes, while Red Bull’s Max Verstappen on Sunday in the race he will start only from the eighth position. The Dutchman was about to close the best time when he was stopped and called to the pits by his team, perhaps due to problems with the fuel. The other Ferrari of Carlos Sainz will start fourth.

“I thought of don’t make it after a little mistake, but they are a lot happy and we recovered well, ”Leclerc said after pole position, the ninth of the season. This time it was especially the ability to to adapt under the conditions of track, with the transition from intermediate to soft tires: “Qualifying was complicated, I didn’t know what to do with the tires but it went well. I’m happy with today’s results, but we don’t have much data for the race even if we think we can win, ”added the Ferrari driver. This is precisely Ferrari’s goal, to take advantage of a Verstappen day and prevent the Grand Prix at Marina Bay from becoming the scene of another comeback by the Dutchman.

Said of the first two rows, with Leclerc-Perez and Hamilton-Sainz, the Alpine of Fernando Alonso. Sixth time for Landau Norris on McLaren, followed by Feancese Pierre Gasly on AlphaTauri. They are Verstappen’s main obstacles in the first laps. They close the top ten instead Kevin Magnussen on Haas e Yuki Tsunoda on AphaTauri.

The starting grid
1. Charles Leclerc (Ferrari) 2. Sergio Perez (Red Bull) 3. Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes) 4. Carlos Sainz (Ferrari) 5. Fernando Alonso (Alpine) 6. Lando Norris (McLaren) 7. Pierre Gasly (AlphaTauri) 8. Max Verstappen (Red Bull) 9. Kevin Magnussen (Haas) 10. Yuki Tsunoda (AlphaTauri) 11. George Russell (Mercedes) 12. Lance Stroll (Aston Martin) 13. Mick Schumacher (Haas) 14. Sebastian Vettel (Aston) Martin) 15. Guanyu Zhou (Alfa Romeo) 16. Valtteri Bottas (Alfa Romeo) 17. Daniel Ricciardo (McLaren) 18. Esteban Ocon (Alpine) 19. Alexander Albon (Williams) 20. Nicholas Letafi (Williams)

Support ilfattoquotidiano.it

For us the only masters are the readers.
But those who follow us must contribute because we, like everyone, do not work for free. Become a supporter too.

Thank you
Peter Gomez

Support now

Payments available

Previous article

Scandal in Formula 1, Red Bull is under investigation for breaching the budget ceiling: here are the penalties it risks


Source link

About David Martin

David Martin is the lead editor for Spark Chronicles. David has been working as a freelance journalist.

Check Also

Qatar 2022 World Cup: the situation in group A after the 3rd day

Qatar 2022 World Cup, 3rd day of group A – Holland and Senegal in …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *