First victory for Carlos Sainz and Audi. Jakub Przygoński with a slight loss

Thanks to Dakar, Audi returned to rallies and on Tuesday was able to enjoy the first stage victory. The fastest on the route turned out to be Carlos Sainz, who had a small jubilee himself. Jakub Przygoński finished in addition to the top ten.

Łukasz Kuczera

Łukasz Kuczera

Carlos Sainz

Press materials / Red Bull / Pictured: Carlos Sainz

So far, Audi has not been able to count as a successful return to the great world of motorsport. Carlos Sainz got lost on the route at the beginning of the Dakar Rally and lost more than two hours, and Stephane Peterhansel damaged the RS Q e-tron and suffered considerable time losses. All this meant that Nasser Al-Attiyah built a safe advantage over the most dangerous rivals.

On Tuesday, however, Sainz proved that the new Audi design can be off-road fast. The experienced Spaniard, with three victories in Dakar, won the first stage victory for the German brand. It was also the 40th stage won by Sainz in Dakar, so the Madrid driver had cause for celebration himself.

In the general classification of the event, Al-Attiyah’s situation is quite comfortable. On Tuesday, Qatar achieved the eighth time, but turned out to be faster than his direct rivals. It fared poorly, among others Sebastien Loeb, who was only 38th and over 33 minutes behind Sainz.

SEE VIDEO: The 17-year-old lost his hand. What he did shocked the whole world

As a result, Al-Attiyah now has 37 minutes and 40 seconds of advantage over the second Loeb.

Jakub Przygoński was classified 13th at the finish line of the third stage. The Orlen Team driver was slower than the winner by 12 minutes and 36 seconds. In the “general classification”, the Pole is ninth.

Dakar Rally – Cars – Stage 3 – Results:

Item Player Team Time / waste
1. Carlos Sainz Team Audi Sport 2: 26.51
2. Henk Lategan Toyota Gazoo Racing +0.38
3. Stephane Peterhansel Team Audi Sport +1.41
4. Nani Roma Bahrain Raid Xtreme +2.41
5. Mattias Ekstroem Team Audi Sport +2.59
6. Yazeed Al Rajhi Overdrive Toyota +3.46
7. Giniel de Villiers Toyota Gazoo Racing +4.10
8. Nasser Al-Attiyah Toyota Gazoo Racing +5.10
9. Lucio Alvarez Overdrive Toyota +6.23
10. Orlando Terranova Bahrain Raid Xtreme +8.11
13. Jakub Przygoński Orlen Team +12.36

Dakar Rally – cars – classification after stage 3:

Item Player Team Time / waste
1. Nasser Al-Attiyah Toyota Gazoo Racing 9: 31.22
2. Sebastien Loeb Bahrain Raid Xtreme +37.40
3. Lucio Alvarez Overdrive Toyota +42.06
4. Giniel de Villiers Toyota Gazoo Racing +45.22
5. Yazeed Al Rajhi Overdrive Toyota +47.29
6. Vladimir Vasiliev VRT Team +49.33
7. Martin Prokop Orlen Team +54.46
8. Sebastian Halpern X-Raid MINI JCW Team +1: 01.32
9. Jakub Przygoński Orlen Team +1: 06.47
10. Orlando Terranova Bahrain Raid Xtreme +1: 08.04

Also read:
How environmentalists saved Michael Schumacher’s “home”
The photo of Michael Schumacher touched F1 fans

Will Nasser Al-Attiyah win the Dakar Rally?

vote if you want to see the results

report an error

WP SportoweFakty

About David Martin

David Martin is the lead editor for Spark Chronicles. David has been working as a freelance journalist.

Check Also

Handball. Sweden eliminated France in the semi-final of the European Championship

Sweden is a four-time champion of the Old Continent (1994, 1998, 2000, 2002). The history …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.