La Jornada – Shortlist approved for the Faculty of Medicine of the National Autonomous University of Mexico

The Technical Committee of the Faculty of Medicine of the National Autonomous University of Mexico (UNAM) has received and approved by majority vote the list of candidates and candidates for the direction of this academic entity, composed in alphabetical order by Andrés Eliu Castel Rodriguez, Teresita Corona Vazquez and Ana Carolina Sepulveda Verdossola.

Of these three academics, the university’s Board of Governors will appoint the next Dean of the Faculty of Medicine, succeeding Germán Fajardo Dolci, whose term ends this month.

Leonardo Lomelí Vanegas, Rector of the National University, said in a letter that after an analysis of the profiles of people aspiring to this position, it was determined that the above three academics fit the article applicable requirements noted in . Article 39 of the General Statutes of the National Autonomous University of Mexico considers candidates for the above-mentioned positions.

However, the Academy’s Technical Committee approved the proposal with a majority vote; 27 votes in favour, 2 against and 3 abstentions.

The first candidate in alphabetical order is Andrés Eliú Castell Rodríguez, a surgeon at the Faculty of Medicine of the National Autonomous University of Mexico (FM). Studied for a master’s degree in biomedical sciences in the field of morphological sciences at FM and received an honorary degree in the last mention of these studies.

He also holds a PhD in biomedical sciences from the college and has been with the college for 38 years. He teaches cell biology and medical histology subjects in the undergraduate degree program at the Faculty.

He served twice as a member of the Technical Committee of the Faculty of Medicine (2000 to 2007 and 2023 to present) and as University Advisor on behalf of the professors from 2016 to 2021. He is currently the director of the Technical Committee of Medicine at the Faculty of Medicine. From 2004 to 2007, he served as a member of the Single Research Proposal Review Committee.

Teresita Corona Vázquez is a neurologist with a Master’s degree in Medicine. An Emeritus Fellow of the National System of Researchers and an “F” Fellow of the National Institutes of Health Research in Medical Sciences.

At the National Institute of Neurology and Neurosurgery, Manuel Velasco Suárez served as Director of the Clinical Laboratory of Neurodegenerative Diseases, Head of the Human Resources Training and Renewal Department (1993 to 1997), and Director of Teaching (1999 to 2007). She was the first woman to be appointed director of the same institute between 2007-2012 and 2012-2017, and the first woman to be elected president of the National Academy of Medicine of Mexico.

Ana Carolina Sepúlveda Vildósola is a surgeon graduated in FM and a pediatrician at IMSS; certified by the Mexican Board of Pediatrics. He has received management training as well as ethics and human rights training.

He has 21 years of experience in management positions related to education and research. Since 2005, she has been an Associate Professor of Pediatrics at IMSS, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México. He currently teaches subjects such as health science teaching, bioethics and public policy, and research seminars.

Since 2006, he has been a member of the Academic Subcommittee of Pediatrics at the National Autonomous University of Mexico, as well as a member of the Internal Advisory Committee of the Graduate Department of the School of Medicine, the Doctoral Admission Evaluation Committee, and the Education Committee of the Latin American Association. Gastroenterology, Hepatology, and Pediatric Nutrition.

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *