Scotland with Ben White, without McInally

Thistle XV coach Gregor Townsend has unveiled his 33 for the World Cup. Without surprise.

Scrum half Ben White, future RC Toulon player, is among the 33 Scots called up for the Rugby World Cup in France, unlike Stuart McInally who left the final list, the Scottish Federation announced on Wednesday.

Coach Gregor Townsend opted for a group of nineteen forwards and fourteen backs without much surprise behind captain and third row Jamie Ritchie or fly-half Finn Russell.

The relative uncertainty surrounding Ben White (25), hit in the ankle on August 5 against France on a high tackle by Louis Bielle-Biarrey, has been lifted.

Stuart McInally, captain in 2019, dismissed

Hooker Stuart McInally (33), captain of the Thistle XV at the World Cup in 2019, was removed from the coach’s expanded list, along with scrum half Jamie Dobie, prop Murphy Walker and third line Josh Bayliss .

The XV du Chardon receives Georgia on August 26 for its final preparation match before the World Cup (September 8 – October 28), where it will challenge South Africa, reigning world champion, and Ireland, N.1 worldwide, as well as Tonga and Romania.

The 33 Scottish players

Mainstays: Jamie Bhatti (Glasgow Warriors), Zander Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors), WP Nel (Edinburgh Rugby), Pierre Schoeman (Edinburgh Rugby), Javan Sebastian (Edinburgh Rugby), Rory Sutherland (non-club)
Hookers: Ewan Ashman (Edinburgh Rugby), Dave Cherry (Edinburgh Rugby), George Turner (Glasgow Warriors)
Second rows: Scott Cummings (Glasgow Warriors), Grant Gilchrist (Edinburgh Rugb), Richie Gray (Glasgow Warriors)
Third lines: Luke Crosbie (Edinburgh Rugby), Rory Darge (Glasgow Warriors), Jack Dempsey (Glasgow Warriors), Matt Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors), Jamie Ritchie (Edinburgh Rugby), Sam Skinner (Edinburgh Rugby), Hamish Watson (Edinburgh Rugby )

Scrum half: Ben White (RC Toulon/FRA), George Horne (Glasgow Warriors), Ali Price (Glasgow Warriors)
Openers: Finn Russell (Bath Rugby), Ben Healy (Edinburgh Rugby)
Wingers: Darcy Graham (Edinburgh Rugby), Duhan van der Merwe (Edinburgh Rugby)
Centres: Kyle Steyn (Glasgow Warriors), Chris Harris (Gloucester Rugby), Huw Jones (Glasgow Warriors), Cameron Redpath (Bath Rugby), Sione Tuipulotu (Glasgow Warriors)
Full-backs: Ollie Smith (Glasgow Warriors), Blair Kinghorn (Edinburgh Rugby)

Source link

Leave a Comment