Tennis: Djokovic’s comeback, historical record in sight?


Tennis: Djokovic’s comeback, historical record in sight?

Published August 9, 2023 at 12:35 pm – Updated August 9, 2023 at 2:32 pm.

On July 16, Carlos Alcaraz shocked the tennis world by defeating the dominant Novak Djokovic in the Wimbledon final. The Serb, who has been absent from major US tournaments for two years due to his vaccination status, will make his big return to the United States by playing the Cincinnati Masters. A great tournament that “Noelle” has won twice in his career, and if he succeeds, he could join the likes of Andre Agassi and Pete Sampras in writing his name in legend.

One of the most prestigious tournaments on the ATP circuit, the Masters of Cincinnati It has some great legends in its track record. the undisputed master of the place, Roger Federer Won the American tournament 7 times. With victories in 2005, 2007, 2009, 2010, 2012, 2014 and 2015, the Swiss legend is set to remain undisputed at the top of the charts for a long time to come. Cincinnati Open, Because behind the Swiss, the only active player to have won the most titles during this tournament is none other than Novak Djokovic, who has two titles to his name, which were obtained in 2018 and 2020.

Mats Wilander: 4 titles in Cincinnati

Back Roger Federerwe get swedish mats wilander, events of the 1980s, mats wilander emerge victorious Cincinnati in 1983 and 1984. In 1985, boris baker won in 1986 before giving way again to Sweden. The following year, his compatriot Stephen Edberg will prevail first mats wilander won his fourth and last title in Cincinnati In 1988. In addition to his 4 titles during this Masters, mats wilander also played in the lost final against boris baker in 1985.

Andre Agassi: 3 titles

In 1995 and 1996, the American Andre Agassi won twice in the finals of Cincinnati Open against your compatriots Michael Chang, It would then be necessary to wait for many years to see the native vegas The victory in this tournament was only in 2004.Andre Agassi He will succeed in his third coronation ohioin front of layton hewitt This time.

Pete Sampras: 3 titles

Just like your great rival, Pete Sampras also won the tournament Cincinnati 3 times. but unlikeAndre Agassi14 Grand Slam winner This player has also lost twice in this tournament: in 1991 against the French dude forget it and against the Australians in 1998 patrick rafter, Victorious in 1992, 1997 and 1999 (where he would seek his revenge) rower, Pete Sampras can be included as Novak Djokovik In case of victory of Serbs during this 2023 edition of Cincinnati Open,

Source link

Leave a Comment