Harrison Ford officially cast in Captain America 4 as Gen. ‘Thunderbolt’ Ross

Harrison Ford he will leave a galaxy far, far away for a universe filled with Earth’s Mightiest Heroes.

Deadline has officially confirmed that the actor, best known for his starring roles in the franchises of Star Wars And Indiana Joneswill replace the late William Hurt in the role of General Thaddeus “Thunderbolt” Ross in the Marvel Cinematic Universe. Ford will make his first appearance as the character in the upcoming film in 2024 Captain America: New World Order. The casting comes after a month of reports and rumors that the Marvel Studios they would target Ford for the role.

Hurt starred for the first time ThaddeusThunderbolt” Ross in the movie The Incredible Hulk of 2008, alongside the Bruce Banner/Hulk Of Ed Norton. Following Norton’s exit as the Jade Giant, Hurt’s Ross was not seen again until Captain America: Civil War of 2016, where he was now the United States Secretary of State. The actor then appeared in three more films Marvel: Avengers: Infinity War (2018), Avengers: Endgame (2019) e Black Widow (2021) – before his death in 2022.

Ford not yet confirmed for the Thunderbolts

Although Ford has been confirmed as new RossThunderbolt” of the MCU, for now the actor should only appear in Captain America: New World Orderdespite rumors suggesting he will also star in Thunderbolts. In the comics, i Thunderbolts they are a team of ex-villains who take on dangerous missions from the government, originally assembled by the general Thaddeus “Thunderbolt” Ross and so called by him. The MCU version of the team will consist of Yelena Belova (Florence Pugh), Bucky Barnes/Winter Soldier (Sebastian Stan), Red Guardian (David Harbour), John Walker/USA Agent (Wyatt Russell), Taskmaster (Olga Kurylenko), Ghost (Hannah John Kamen) And Valentina Allegra de Fontaine (Julia Louis-Dreyfus). The arrival in the halls of Thunderbolts is scheduled for July 26, 2024.

Captain America: New World Order will be the first starring role of Anthony Mackie in a movie Marvelhaving previously co-starred on the series Disney+ The Falcon and the Winter Soldier with Stan. Mackie will reprise his role as Sam Wilsonwho assumed the role of Captain America in the series finale. The cast of the film also includes Danny Ramirez in the role of Joaquín Torres/Falcon, Tim Blake Nelson in the role of Samuel Sterns/Leader, Carl Lumbly in the role of Isaiah Bradley And Shira Haas in the role of Ruth Bat Seraph/Sabra.

Directed by Julius Onah from a script written by Malcolm Spellman And Dalan Musson, Captain America: New World Order will be released in theaters on May 3, 2024, as the fourth film of Phase 5 of the MCU.

Source link

About David Martin

David Martin is the lead editor for Spark Chronicles. David has been working as a freelance journalist.

Check Also

Groundhog Day and the 10 Most Absurd “Time Loops” in Cinema | Vanity Fair Italy

Today, Canada and the United States celebrate the Groundhog Day (Groundhog Day). Famous holiday also …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *